Maine Republicans won’t recognize ranked choice voting in presidential primary

The Maine Republican Party says it won’t recognize ranked choice voting in the March 5 presidential primary, adding another layer of complexity to an already confusing election.

The position also puts the state party at odds with former President Donald Trump’s lawyers, who argued in legal briefings that Maine’s use of ranked choice voting could help preserve the integrity of the election in the event he is disqualified by the courts.

Trump’s team argued against the need for Maine’s courts to move forward immediately with a ruling on whether he is eligible for the state’s primary ballot, saying votes for the former president could be redistributed to voters' second choices during the ranked choice tabulation.

“One person, one vote is a sacred principle to Republicans, and it should be to all Americans. That principle is what we are defending here in this party primary,” party Chair Joel Stetkis said in November.

Read More
RCV by is licensed under

Recent News

Supreme Court to hear Trump ballot removal case out of Colorado

By: Shannon Bream , Bill Mears , Chris Pandolfo

The U.S. Supreme Court is debate today whether former President Donald Trump should be removed from Colorado's primary ballot, the first of what could be several legal challenges against Trump to confront the nine justices.

read more
Bill to ban displays of Satan in public property moves forward in Senate

By: David Baker

A measure that would keep anything Satan-related away from public spaces passed a state Senate committee on Wednesday morning.

read more
Embattled RNC Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel to RESIGN

By: Jim Hoft

In a stunning development, Ronna Romney McDaniel, the embattled Chairwoman of the Republican National Committee (RNC), is set to resign from her position following the February 24th South Carolina GOP primary, as reported by The New York Times.

read more

Latest Video

Chairman Jeff DeWit's Biography


Meet your new Republican Party of Arizona Chairman, Jeff DeWit!

read more
© 2024 AZ GOP